Monday, October 12, 2009

Marriage on Mondays

I truly believe Mondays are marvelous – to me they represent Beginnings … for many they mark the beginning of the work week or the school week. I believe they can also mark a new beginning for our marriages.

What?  A new beginning? You might say : I have been married for over a year,  and you – 10 years,  and you – 18; … for me it’s been over 30 years! No matter!

I am here to tell you Marriage is all about the ‘Transformation’ of 2 unique individuals to become an incredible, amazing, beautiful, crazy Creation of Oneness!!!  This is the day we can all decide to act in ways that are special, unique, new, and alive – it just takes one of us to make a conscious effort and invariably the other will notice and smile. When you both go at – whew! look out world, beauty in motion!

We are designed to take delight in new beginnings. Maybe you’re not sure what to do next, how to be any different, how to get out of this dadgum rut … well, there’s oodles of books about marriage over at YOUR NINTH HOUR – take a look-see and figure out which one strikes your fancy for this time in your life – for this time in your marriage. This could be the day a wonderful transformation begins.

One of my absolute favorite books is The Five Love Languages – it so happens that our Jessi and Benjamin’s small group is studying it right now. Lowell and I first read it about 15 years ago and he taught a wonderful series of lessons on it. The Five Love Languages speaks the language of our own unique hearts – it’s popularity has only grown through the years. Could it be that you didn’t know your wife/husband spoke in their own unique love language? What if you began this week to speak the language unique to their heart and your marriage was renewed in amazing ways. Maybe, like me, you read this book years ago, and you have forgotten the language of your lover’s heart – it could just be the time to remember it …

It could be just what you need to make your Marriage on Monday simply Marvelous!

Me and my Marvelous Marriage Partner! This is the Good Life!


73156: The Five Love Languages
The Five Love Languages

By Gary Chapman

Dr. Gary Chapman, Christian marriage counselor and author of The Five Love Languages, helps married couples deal with their unmet needs for love. Because a husband and wife often have different communication styles, it is common for a spouse to not feel or recognize the love given to them. In his bestselling book, The Five Love Languages, Dr. Chapman identifies and explains five unique communication methods – Quality Time, Words of Affirmation, Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. Then he encourages couples to learn how to speak love in their spouse’s primary love language, not their own. Love is something you do for someone else, not yourself. Begin today. Includes a study guide; paperback.

No comments:

Post a Comment